In conjunction with the Graduate Council’s Advisory Committee for GSI Affairs, the GSI Teaching & Resource Center annually sponsors four types of awards.

The Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor Award recognizes GSIs who have been nominated for excellence in teaching in their departments.

The Teaching Effectiveness Award for GSIs honors a small number of GSIs who devise solutions to teaching or learning problems they have identified in their classes and write them up in a one-page essay. These essays  are published on the GSI Center website for use by instructors.

The Teagle Foundation Award for Excellence in Enhancing Student Learning gives recent TEA recipients the opportunity to connect effective teaching strategies to the research on how students learn, in a brief essay published on the GSI Center website.

The Faculty Award for Outstanding Mentorship of GSIs acknowledges faculty members who have provided excellent guidance and mentoring to GSIs.

For further information about these awards, please see our Awards FAQ page.

Congratulations 2016 Award Recipients!

Outstanding Graduate Student Instructors

Teaching Effectiveness Award

(essays to be posted soon)

Eric Armstrong, Integrative Biology
Beatriz Brando, Science and Math Education
Riva Bruenn, Plant and Microbial Biology
Eduardo Escobar, Near Eastern Studies
Johann Koehler, Jurisprudence and Social Policy
Rajan Kumar, Materials Science and Engineering
Christian Lambert, Public Policy
Yi-Chuan Lu, Physics
Leila Mansouri, English
Caitlin Scholl, Comparative Literature
Hayden Shelby, City and Regional Planning
Christiane Stachl, Chemistry
Mercedes Taylor, Chemistry
Alexandria Yuan, Public Policy

Faculty Award for Outstanding Mentorship of GSIs

Rodolfo John Alaniz, Lecturer, History
Gail S. Brager, Professor, Architecture
Kathryn DeMaster, Assistant Professor, Agriculture, Society and Environment